PolySafe

Cable Ageing || Nondestructive Characterization || Safety of Nuclear Facilities || Long-term Operation || Inspection Method || Polymers

PolySafe

© Project logo created by Fraunhofer IZFP

PolySafe is the short title of the project ”Nondestructive characterization and monitoring of ageing phenomena in cable insulation in the context of reactor safety”.

With regard to a lifetime extension of European nuclear power plants (NPPs), it is also important for Germany to be able to assess the condition of nuclear facilities in neighboring countries and to estimate the material behavior. This applies not only to components such as reactor pressure vessels and pipelines, but also to the approx. 25,000 cables with a total length of approx. 1,500 km that are installed in a typical NPP – simple lighting installation as well as motor, sensor and data cables, many of which are essential for safe operation. Depending on their location, in normal operation the cables are exposed to loads such as increased temperature, radiation, pressure or vibrations. In malfunction and accident scenarios, the nominal loads are situationally thoroughly outrun – but nevertheless, reliable functioning is ever required despite possibly increased loads. Due to the operating conditions, the ageing behavior of the cable insulation is crucial. This concerns both the outer jacket directly exposed to the ambient atmosphere and the insulation of the individual cores. Since a destructive inspection during operation is not possible, nondestructive methods to determine the ageing condition of safety-relevant NPP cables are mandatory.  

The overall objective of the BMWi-funded PolySafe project is to develop a nondestructive method for characterizing and monitoring the ageing condition of insulation materials. The project deliberately addresses insulation materials (CSPE, EPR) which have been used in cables of older plants and will soon exceed the limits of their designed lifetime.

Within the project, ultrasonic and terahertz methods are used to gain an understanding of the impact of age-related material changes on the acousto-elastic and dielectric properties. According to the results of these investigations, an approach for the nondestructive characterization of age-related material changes will be identified, developed for laboratory use and validated on artificially aged cables.

The PolySafe project is carried out together with the Materialprüfungsanstalt (MPA) Stuttgart.

PolySafe Key Data

Joint Project
Coordinated by Fraunhofer IZFP
Funding Authority: BMWi (GRS)
Project Term: 08/2018 to 12/2020
Total Funding: approx. 950,000 €

PolySafe

Kabelalterung || Zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung || Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen || Langzeitbetrieb || Prüfverfahren || Polymere ||

PolySafe

© Projektlogo erstellt durch Fraunhofer IZFP

PolySafe ist der Kurztitel des Projekts »Zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung und Überwachung von Alterungsphänomenen in Kabelisolationen im Kontext der Reaktorsicherheit«.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer Laufzeitverlängerung europäischer Kernkraftwerke (KKW) ist es auch für Deutschland wichtig, den Zustand der kerntechnischen Anlagen in den Nachbarländern beurteilen und das Werkstoffverhalten einschätzen zu können. Dies betrifft nicht nur Komponenten wie Reaktordruckbehälter und Rohrleitungen, sondern auch die ca. 25.000 Kabel mit einer Gesamtlänge von ca. 1.500 km, die in einem typischen KKW verbaut sind – dies reicht von einfacher Beleuchtungsinstallation bis hin zu Motor-, Sensor- und Datenleitungen, von denen viele für den sicheren Betrieb ausschlaggebende Bedeutung haben. Abhängig vom Einsatzort sind die Kabel im Normalbetrieb Lasten wie erhöhter Temperatur, Strahlung, Druck oder Vibrationen ausgesetzt. In Stör- und Unfallszenarien werden die nominellen Lasten durchaus punktuell überschritten – dennoch ist stets eine zuverlässige Funktion trotz möglicherweise erhöhter Belastung gefordert. Aufgrund der Betriebsbedingungen ist das Alterungsverhalten der Kabelisolation von hohem Interesse, wobei sowohl der unmittelbar der Umgebungsatmosphäre ausgesetzte äußere Mantel als auch die Isolation der einzelnen Adern betroffen sind. Da eine zerstörende Überprüfung im Betrieb nicht möglich ist, besteht somit ein Bedarf an zerstörungsfreien Verfahren zur Bestimmung des Alterungszustands sicherheitsrelevanter Kabel kerntechnischer Anlagen.

Das Gesamtziel des durch das BMWi geförderten Projekts PolySafe ist die Entwicklung eines derartigen zerstörungsfreien Verfahrens zur Charakterisierung und Überwachung des Alterungszustands der Isolationsmaterialien. Bewusst werden im Projekt Isolationsmaterialien (CSPE, EPR) adressiert, die in Kabeln älterer Anlagen eingesetzt wurden und bald die Grenze ihrer Auslegungslebensdauer überschreiten.

Im Rahmen des Projekts werden Ultraschall- und Terahertz-Verfahren eingesetzt, um ein Verständnis der Auswirkung alterungsbedingter Materialveränderungen auf die akusto-elastischen und dielektrischen Eigenschaften zu erhalten. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen dieser Untersuchungen wird ein Verfahrensansatz zur zerstörungsfreien Charakterisierung alterungsbedingter Materialveränderungen ausgewählt, für den Laboreinsatz entwickelt und an künstlich gealtertem Kabel validiert.

Das Projekt PolySafe wird gemeinsam mit der Materialprüfungsanstalt (MPA) Stuttgart bearbeitet.

PolySafe Eckdaten

Verbundvorhaben
Koordination durch Fraunhofer IZFP
Fördergeber: BMWi (GRS)
Laufzeit: 08/2018 bis 12/2020
Gesamtfördersumme: ca. 950 000 €