GecKI

© NEXT. robotics, INNOCISE

GecKI is the acronym for "AI-based object recognition and adaptive control for intelligent, bio-inspired robotic gripping systems for embedding in Industry 4.0 environments".

The aim of the joint project is to further develop methods of artificial intelligence in order to design a novel bio-inspired system that enables auto-adaptive robot-assisted manipulation with object recognition.

This results in the central initial question of the research project: How can artificial intelligence be used to create the most versatile and energy-efficient gripping system possible, which can be used by SMEs and large companies alike to make a leap in terms of intelligent, self-regulating and thus adaptable handling processes?

The project will contribute to increase the economic efficiency of flexible and changing productions so that the business location Germany remains competitive and takes a leading role in the field of technological innovations for highly flexible production techniques.

The capabilities of the AI-based gripping system will be organized into different levels that increase in complexity and represent different levels of integration in industrial environments. On a test setup, the AI, including training methods, will be developed and transferred to demonstrator applications for validation. The applications will be adaptable to different robotic systems. Besides the scientific excellence of the results, a publicly available demonstration of GecKI will be the second main goal.

The novel possibilities for the use of the intelligent gripping systems result in the cooperation with accompanying industrial companies, in the increase of user-friendliness and in the broad visibility of the achieved results of the research project. Close integration and early discussion with end users in addition to purely scientific work will ensure subsequent value creation for society through GecKI.

The project consortium comprises “INNOCISE GmbH“, "NEXT. robotics GmbH & Co. KG"“ (entrepreneurial side) and Fraunhofer IZFP (research side).

As a spin-off from INM - Leibniz Institute for New Materials, INNOCISE can build on more than 10 years of scientific research. This is complemented by the experience of Fraunhofer IZFP in the field of cognitive sensor systems, sensor materials and AI-based data evaluation.

 

 

GecKI Key Data

Joint project

Funded by: BMBF (DLR)

Funding code: 01IS21035B

Duration: 09/2021 until 08/2024

Funding amount: approx. 1.1 M €

GecKI

KI-Algorithmen || KI-basierte Signalauswertung/-aufbereitung || Intelligente, bioinspirierte Robotergreifsysteme || Industrie 4.0 || Sensorelektronik ||

GecKI

GecKI ist das Akronym für »KI-basierte Objekterkennung und adaptive Steuerung für intelligente, bioinspirierte Robotergreifsysteme zur Einbettung in Industrie 4.0-Umgebungen«.

Wie kann durch Einsatz künstlicher Intelligenz ein möglichst vielseitig einsetzbares und energieeffizientes Greifsystem geschaffen werden, das von KMUs und Großunternehmen gleichermaßen genutzt werden kann, um einen Sprung hinsichtlich intelligenter, selbstregulierender und damit anpassungsfähiger Handhabungsprozesse zu machen?

Daraus ergibt sich die zentrale Ausgangsfrage des Forschungsvorhabens: Das Ziel des Verbundvorhabens besteht darin, Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz weiterzuentwickeln, um ein neuartiges bioinspiriertes System zu entwerfen, das auto-adaptive robotergestützte Manipulation mit Objekterkennung ermöglicht. Das Vorhaben trägt dazu bei, die Wirtschaftlichkeit von flexiblen und wechselnden Produktionen zu steigern damit der Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland weiter konkurrenzfähig bleibt und im Bereich technologischer Innovationen für hochflexible Produktionstechniken eine führende Rolle einnimmt.

Die Fähigkeiten des KI-basierten Greifsystems werden in verschiedene Level gegliedert, die in ihrer Komplexität steigen und verschiedene Integrationsstufen in industriellen Umgebungen repräsentieren. An einem Testaufbau wird die KI inkl. Trainingsmethoden entwickelt und zur Validierung auf Demonstrator-Anwendungen übertragen, die an verschiedene Robotersysteme anpassbar sein werden. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Exzellenz der Resultate wird eine öffentlich zugängliche Demonstration von GecKI das zweite Hauptziel darstellen.

Die neuartigen Möglichkeiten zum Einsatz der intelligenten Greifsysteme münden in die Zusammenarbeit mit begleitenden Industrieunternehmen zur Erhöhung der Nutzerfreundlichkeit und der breitenwirksamen Sichtbarkeit der erzielten Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts. Durch die enge Verzahnung und frühe Diskussion mit Endanwendern zusätzlich zur rein wissenschaftlichen Arbeit wird eine anschließende Wertschöpfung der Gesellschaft durch GecKI sichergestellt.

Das Projektkonsortium besteht auf unternehmerischer Seite aus der INNOCISE GmbH sowie der NEXT. robotics GmbH & Co. KG und auf Forschungsseite aus dem Fraunhofer IZFP.
Als Ausgründung aus dem INM – Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien kann INNOCISE auf mehr als 10 Jahre wissenschaftlichen Forschungsergebnisse aufbauen. Diese wird durch die Erfahrung des Fraunhofer IZFP im Bereich kognitiver Sensorsysteme, Sensormaterialien und KI-basierter Datenauswertung ergänzt.

GecKI Eckdaten

Verbundvorhaben
Fördergeber: BMBF (DLR)
Laufzeit: 09/2021 bis 08/2024
Gesamtfördersumme:  ca. 1,5 Mio. €