EMUS-4-Stress

EMUS || Nondestructive Characterization || Safety of Nuclear Facilities || Ageing || Fatigue || Pipelines || Testing Methods || Residual Stress ||

EMUS-4-Stress

EMUS-4-Stress is the short title of the project ”Condition monitoring system based on electromagnetically excited ultrasonic transducers”.

The knowledge of the thermo-mechanical stress state of components is essential for the operation and safety of thermally and mechanically cyclically loaded nuclear facilities (e.g. thermo-mechanically loaded components in nuclear power plants). The national and also more and more the international conversion of power generation structures towards the increased use of solar and wind energy inevitably implies an increase in the standard loading share of the classic thermal power plant park, which results in an increase of stress-related fatigue load. The knowledge base for decisions on operation, maintenance and monitoring has to be improved accordingly. In the ever more important ageing management of nuclear facilities, the real time profile of the thermo-mechanical stress is of major importance. Thus, for pipe systems, the development of a method is crucial, which allows the determination of the thermo-mechanical stress state over the inner pipe wall surface.

The overall objective of the BMWi-funded EMUS-4-Stress project concerns the development of a method to determine load-related stress gradients – which build up starting from the inner wall of pipelines – by measurements from the outer wall, even in the case of rapid load sequences. This enables the early damage detection and the monitoring of components in nuclear facilities. To begin with, in two feasibility phases of one year each, the principle applicability of the EMAT-based stress measurement for this purpose was demonstrated. Currently, the third phase (implementation phase) of the development project is running, which strives for the synergetic combination of and FAMOSi-based monitoring of ductwork.

In the third phase, Fraunhofer IZFP pursues two core objectives: On the one hand, FAMOSi will be extended by metrological components developed by Fraunhofer IZFP based on EMAT transducers, which detect fast stress transients at inner pipe walls notwithstanding measurements from the outer wall. On the other hand, high-frequency load changes, which are not recorded by FAMOSi, are calculated by a routine trained at Fraunhofer IZFP. This routine resorts to the ultrasonic time-of-flight data, which is by far more responsive.

The EMUS-4-Stress 3 project is realized together with TU Kaiserslautern’s Chair of Materials Science (WKK) and Framatome GmbH. It is accompanied by the Materialprüfungsanstalt (MPA) Stuttgart in a subcontract.

EMUS-4-Stress Key Data

Joint Project
Coordinated by Fraunhofer IZFP
Funding Authority: BMWi (GRS)
Project Term: 03/2020 to 02/2023
Total Funding Phase 3:
approx. 970 000 €

EMUS-4-Stress

EMUS || Zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung || Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen || Alterung || Ermüdung || Rohrleitungen || Prüfverfahren || Eigenspannungen ||

EMUS-4-Stress

EMUS-4-Stress ist der Kurztitel des Projekts »Zustandsüberwachungssystem auf der Basis von elektromagnetisch angeregten Ultraschall-Wandlern«.

Die Kenntnis des thermo-mechanischen Spannungszustandes von Komponenten ist essentiell für den Betrieb und die Sicherheit thermisch und mechanisch zyklisch belasteter kerntechnischer Anlagen (z. B. thermo-mechanisch beanspruchter Komponenten in Kernkraftwerken). Der nationale und auch zunehmend der internationale Umbau der Energieerzeugungsstrukturen in Richtung vermehrter Nutzung von Solar- und Windenergie erzeugt zwangsläufig auch einen Anstieg des Regellastanteiles des klassischen thermischen Kraftwerkparks, was eine Zunahme der spannungsbedingten Ermüdungsbeanspruchung bedeutet. Die Wissensbasis für Entscheidungen zum Betrieb sowie für die Instandhaltung bzw. Überwachung muss entsprechend verbessert werden. Im zunehmend wichtiger werdenden Alterungsmanagement kerntechnischer Anlagen spielt insbesondere der reale zeitliche Verlauf der thermo-mechanischen Beanspruchung eine bedeutende Rolle. Für Rohrleitungssysteme ist daher die Entwicklung einer Methode relevant, die eine Bestimmung der an der Rohrinnenwand vorliegenden thermo-mechanischen Spannungen erlaubt.

Das Gesamtziel des durch das BMWi geförderten Projekts EMUS-4-Stress besteht daher in der Entwicklung einer Methode, mit deren Hilfe man die beanspruchungsbedingten Spannungsgradienten, die sich ausgehend von der Rohrinnenwand von Rohrleitungsbauteilen aufbauen, auch bei schnellen Belastungsfolgen durch Messungen von der Außenwand her bestimmen kann, um somit eine Schadensfrüherkennung bzw. Überwachung der Komponenten in kerntechnischen Anlagen zu ermöglichen. In zwei jeweils einjährigen Machbarkeitsphasen wurde zunächst die grundlegende Anwendbarkeit der EMUS-basierten Spannungsmessung für diesen Zweck nachgewiesen. Aktuell befindet sich das Entwicklungsvorhaben in der dritten Phase (Implementierungsphase), deren Hauptziel die synergetische Verbindung von EMUS- und FAMOSi-Überwachung von Rohrleitungen ist.

Das Fraunhofer IZFP verfolgt in der dritten Phase zwei Kernziele: zum einen wird FAMOSi durch am Fraunhofer IZFP entwickelte messtechnische Komponenten auf Basis von EMUS-Wandlern erweitert, die schnelle Spannungstransienten an einer Rohrinnenwand trotz Messung von der Außenwand erfassen. Zum anderen werden hochfrequente Lastwechsel, die von FAMOSi nicht erfasst werden, durch eine am Fraunhofer IZFP trainierte Routine aus den wesentlich reaktionsschnelleren Ultraschall-Laufzeitdaten rechnerisch ermittelt. Auf diesem Wege ergänzen sich beide Techniken synergetisch.

Das Projekt EMUS-4-Stress 3 wird gemeinsam mit dem Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffkunde (WKK) der TU Kaiserslautern sowie der Framatome GmbH bearbeitet und durch die Materialprüfungsanstalt (MPA) Stuttgart in einem Unterauftrag begleitet.

EMUS-4-Stress Eckdaten

Verbundvorhaben
Koordination durch Fraunhofer IZFP
Fördergeber: BMWi (GRS)
Laufzeit: 03/2020 bis 02/2023
Gesamtfördersumme Phase 3:
ca. 970 000 €