STRUMAT-LTO

Reactor Pressure Vessel || Inspection Methods || Nondestructive Evaluation || Nuclear Safety || Embrittlement || Safe Long-Term Operation || Material Degradation

STRUMAT-LTO

This project has received funding from the Euratom research and training programme 2019-2020 under grant agreement No 945272.
© European Union
This project has received funding from the Euratom research and training programme 2019-2020 under grant agreement No 945272.

STRUMAT-LTO is the acronym for ”STRUctural MATerials research for safe Long Term Operation of Light Water Reactors”.

Concerning the climate change, the European Commission has implemented the SET-Plan, which defines initiatives to accelerate the development and deployment of low-carbon technologies. The European Union (EU) has firmly established within Set-Plan that nuclear energy plays a fundamental role in the EU to meet its targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and contributes largely in the improvement of the EU independence, security and diversity of energy supply. The long-term operation (LTO) of existing nuclear power plants (NPPs) has been identified as a promising way to achieve the intermediate decarbonisation targets in the energy transition towards 2050 and is a common practise in a significant number of countries with established nuclear programmes. One of the critical issues of LTO is the embrittlement of the reactor pressure vessel (RPV) caused mainly by neutron irradiation.

Despite all previous research on RPV embrittlement, several open issues as outlined below have not been fully addressed in previous experimental programmes and will be addressed in the frame of STRUMAT-LTO:

  • High fluence behaviour and synergetic effects of nickel, manganese and silicon (Ni-Mn-Si) at high fluences
  • Validation of the embrittlement trend equations for LTO beyond 60 years
  • Lack of surveillance material and moving towards miniature specimens for surveillance testing; thus, testing methods based on small / sub-sized specimens are considered to characterize irradiation-induced changes in the material properties

In this context, Fraunhofer IZFP will contribute to complement qualitative and quantitative materials characterization of the embrittlement of miniature specimens by means of nondestructive ultrasonic methods. To this, the specialized expertise of ultrasonic methods in the high-frequency range is to be used, which enable the characterization of the microstructure of materials. In this way, on the one hand, possible embrittlement progress can be detected and on the other hand, reference data from destructive investigations of the partners will be used to develop a method for nondestructively predicting material parameters or mechanical properties of the samples. This nondestructively determined information can then be used to identify the best suitable destructive methodology for microstructure characterization.

The STRUMAT-LTO consortium gathers important European and even some non-European institutions in the fields of nuclear energy:

  • MTA-EK (HU)
  • NRG (NL)
  • HZDR EV (DE)
  • CIEMAT (ES)
  • UJV REZ, a. s. (CZ)
  • BAY ZOLTAN (HU)
  • VTT (FI)
  • JRC - EC (BE)
  • UKAEA (UK)
  •  VUJE AS (CZ)
  • SSTC NRS (UA)
  • CNRS (F)
  • INR NASU (UA)
  • STUBA (SK)
  • ARB-NPPS (UA)
  • IPP Center LLC (UA)
  • SEC-NRS (RU)
  • Fraunhofer IZFP (DE)

STRUMAT-LTO Key Data

Collaborative Project
Coordinated by the Hungarian Academy of Science Centre for Energy Research (MTA-EK)
Funding Authority: European Commission
Project Term: 09/2020 to 08/2024
Total Project Budget: approx. 4 million €

STRUMAT-LTO

Reaktordruckbehälter || Prüfverfahren || Zerstörungsfreie Bewertung || Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen || Versprödung || Langzeitbetrieb || Materialschädigung

STRUMAT-LTO

Dieses Projekt wurde vom Euratom Forschungs- und Ausbildungsprogramm 2019-2020 unter der Fördernummer 945272 gefördert.
© Europäische Union
Dieses Projekt wurde vom Euratom Forschungs- und Ausbildungsprogramm 2019-2020 unter der Fördernummer 945272 gefördert.

STRUMAT-LTO steht für »STRUctural MATerials research for safe Long Term Operation of Light Water Reactors« (Forschung zu Strukturwerkstoffen für den Langzeit-Betrieb von Leichtwasser-Reaktoren).  

Als Reaktion auf den Klimawandel hat die EU-Kommission den SET-Plan ins Leben gerufen, der Initiativen zur beschleunigten Entwicklung und Anwendung kohlenstoffarmer Technologien definiert. Innerhalb des SET-Plans wurde seitens Europäischer Union (EU) festgelegt, dass die Kernenergie innerhalb der EU hinsichtlich deren Ziele zur Verringerung der Treibhausgas-Emissionen eine grundlegende Rolle spielen und in hohem Maße zur Verbesserung der Unabhängigkeit, Sicherheit und Vielfalt der Energieversorgung der EU beitragen wird. Als vielversprechender Weg zur Erreichung der Zwischenziele für die Dekarbonisierung beim Energiewandel bis 2050 wurde der Langzeitbetrieb (Long Term Operation, LTO) bestehender Kernkraftwerke (KKW) identifiziert. Dies ist in einer erheblichen Anzahl von Ländern mit etablierten Nuklearprogrammen gängige Praxis. Ein kritisches Problem im Kontext dieses Langzeitbetriebs betrifft die hauptsächlich durch Neutronenbestrahlung verursachte Versprödung des Reaktordruckbehälters (RDB).

Die bisherige Forschung zur RDB-Versprödung hat in früheren Versuchsprogrammen mehrere Fragen aufgeworfen oder offen gelassen, die im Folgenden aufgelistet sind. Diese werden im Rahmen von STRUMAT-LTO aufgegriffen:

  • Positive Synergieeffekte der Legierungsbestandteile Nickel, Mangan und Silizium (Ni, Mn, Si) bei hohen Fluenzen
  • Validierung der Gleichungen zum Versprödungsverlauf bei LTO über 60 Jahre
  • Da zunehmend ein Mangel an Überwachungsmaterial (Charpy-Proben) besteht, ist ein Lösungsansatz der Übergang zu Miniaturproben für Überwachungstests; aus diesem Grund werden Testmethoden, die auf Miniatur-Proben (sub-Charpy-Größe) basieren, zur Charakterisierung von Änderungen der Materialeigenschaften in Folge der Neutronenbestrahlung in Betracht gezogen

In diesem Zusammenhang trägt das Fraunhofer IZFP dazu bei, die qualitative und quantitative Materialcharakterisierung der Versprödung von Miniaturproben durch zerstörungsfreie Ultraschallverfahren zu ergänzen. Hierzu soll die spezielle Eignung von Ultraschallverfahren im Hochfrequenzbereich genutzt werden, welche die Charakterisierung der Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen ermöglichen. Einerseits kann auf diese Weise das mögliche Voranschreiten von Versprödung erkannt werden. Andererseits werden Referenzdaten aus zerstörenden Untersuchungen der Partner genutzt, um eine Methode zur zerstörungsfreien Vorhersage von Materialparametern oder mechanischen Eigenschaften der Proben zu entwickeln. Die zerstörungsfrei ermittelten Kenngrößen können zudem letztlich dazu verwendet werden, um die am besten geeignete zerstörende Methodik zur Charakterisierung von Mikrostrukturen zu identifizieren.

Im STRUMAT-LTO-Konsortium kommen folgende europäische und auch einige außereuropäische Institutionen zusammen, die u.a. im Kernkraftbereich tätig sind:

  • MTA-EK (Ungarn)
  • NRG (Niederlande)
  • HZDR EV (Deutschland)
  • CIEMAT (Spanien)
  • UJV REZ, a. s. (Tschechien)
  • BAY ZOLTAN (Ungarn)
  • VTT (Finnland)
  • JRC - EC (Belgien)
  • UKAEA (Großbritannien)
  • VUJE AS (Tschechien)
  • SSTC NRS (Ukraine)
  • CNRS (Frankreich)
  • INR NASU (Ukraine)
  • STUBA (Slovakei)
  • ARB-NPPS (Ukraine)
  • IPP Center LLC (Ukraine)
  • SEC-NRS (Russland)
  • Fraunhofer IZFP (Deutschland)
     

STRUMAT-LTO Eckdaten

Verbundvorhaben
Koordination: Ungarische Akademie der Wissenschaft, Zentrum für Energieforschung (MTA-EK)
Projekt-Laufzeit: 09/2020 bis 08/2024
Gesamt-Budget: ca. 4 Mio. €