Broken concrete wall texture background

BetoNPP

Detection of Wire Breaks in Prestressed Concrete Poles || Nondestructive Characterization || Safety of Nuclear Power Plants || Long-Term Operation|| Testing Methods || Reinforced Concrete || Containment || Flux Leakage || Microwaves || Georadar ||

BetoNPP

© Fraunhofer IZFP

BetoNPP is the short title of the project ”Hybridverfahren zur zerstörungsfreien Bewertung und tomographischen Bestandserfassung dickwandiger Stahlbetonstrukturen in kerntechnischen Anlagen” (hybrid method for nondestructive evaluation and tomographic stocktaking of thick-walled reinforced concrete structures in nuclear facilities).

Against the background of the intended extension of the operating lives of European nuclear power plants (NPPs), it is important for Germany to be able to assess the condition of nuclear facilities in adjacent countries and to evaluate safety aspects. This concerns not only components such as reactor pressure vessels, pipelines and cables, but also the concrete components of a NPP, which protect both the environment from radiation (bioshield) and the power plant components from possible damage by external influences. The protective function of the building envelope ranges from weathering to terrorist attacks and aircraft crashes. It is well known that concrete ages via different mechanisms; accordingly, numerous NPPs showing creep damage in concrete (such as cracks and delaminations) can be found. In relation to safety aspects, a large share of these defects can be regarded as irrelevant; thus, a major task is to identify those defects that actually are safety-critical. While safe operation requires the evaluation of the impact of these types of defects on the physical and biological protective function, there is a lack of procedures for the whole of detection, measurement and documentation of the defects, their causes and changes over time.

The overall objective of the BetoNPP project, which is funded by the BMWi, is to develop a combination of microwave (georadar) and magnetic leakage flux techniques. By information fusion or hybridization of their data both, tomography and condition assessment of thick-walled concrete structures of NPPs shall be performed. While the georadar technique uses multiple frequencies to locate internal structures such as reinforcement or tendons - but also possible voids and foreign bodies - the flux leakage technique detects discontinuities (cracks, fractures, accidental lacking) of tendons and reinforcement. The combination of the process information with the goal of automated feature extraction and defect detection allows the reliable recording of the structural stock and at the same time an evaluation of the component condition. The results serve as an input for digital condition files, allowing conclusions on changes over time at the respective location during recurring inspections. At the same time, the machine signal evaluation supports the detection of safety-critical defects in the extensive measurement data sets.

The BetoNPP project is being worked on in collaboration with the Chair of Measurement Technology at Saarland University (LMT-UdS) and KIWA GmbH.

 

BetoNPP Key Data

Joint Project
Coordinated by Fraunhofer IZFP
Funding Authority: BMWi (GRS)
Project Term: 05/2021 bis 04/2024
Total Funding: approx. 1.24 million €

Broken concrete wall texture background

BetoNPP

Spannstahlbruchortung || Zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung || Sicherheit kerntechnischer Anlagen || Langzeitbetrieb || Prüfverfahren || Stahlbeton || Containment || Streufluss || Mikrowellen || Georadar ||

BetoNPP

© Fraunhofer IZFP

BetoNPP ist der Kurztitel des Projekts »Hybridverfahren zur zerstörungsfreien Bewertung und tomographischen Bestandserfassung dickwandiger Stahlbetonstrukturen in kerntechnischen Anlagen«.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer Laufzeitverlängerung europäischer Kernkraftwerke (KKW) ist es auch für Deutschland wichtig, den Zustand der kerntechnischen Anlagen in den Nachbarländern beurteilen und Sicherheitsaspekte einschätzen zu können. Dies betrifft nicht nur Komponenten wie Reaktordruckbehälter, Rohrleitungen und Kabel, sondern auch die Betonkomponenten eines KKW, die sowohl die Umwelt vor Strahlung schützen (Bioschild) als auch die Kraftwerkskomponenten vor möglichen Beschädigungen durch äußere Einflüsse (die Schutzfunktion der Gebäudehülle reicht von der Bewitterung bis hin zu Terroranschlägen und Flugzeugabstürzen). Es ist bekannt, dass Beton über unterschiedliche Mechanismen altert – entsprechend finden sich im Bestand zahlreiche KKW mit zeitstandbedingten Fehlern im Beton wie Rissen und Delaminationen. Ein Großteil dieser Fehler ist als nicht sicherheitsrelevant anzusehen; insofern besteht eine Aufgabe darin, sicherheitskritische Fehler zu identifizieren. Ein sicherer Betrieb erfordert einerseits die Bewertung der Auswirkung dieser Fehlerarten auf die physikalische und biologische Schutzfunktion, andererseits mangelt es an Verfahren zur vollständigen Detektion, Vermessung und Dokumentation der Fehler, ihrer Ursachen und zeitlichen Veränderung.

Das Gesamtziel des durch das BMWi geförderten Projekts BetoNPP ist die Entwicklung einer Verfahrenskombination aus Mikrowellen- (Georadar) und magnetischen Streuflusstechniken, durch deren Informationsfusion bzw. Hybridisierung sowohl eine Tomographie als auch eine Zustandsbewertung dickwandiger Betonstrukturen von KKW erfolgen soll. Während die Georadartechnik unter Einsatz mehrerer Frequenzen zur Lokalisierung innerer Strukturen wie Bewehrung, Spanngliedern, aber auch möglicher Hohlräume und Fremdkörper dient, erfasst das Streuflussverfahren Diskontinuitäten (Risse, Brüche, irrtümliches Fehlen) von Spanngliedern und Bewehrung. Die Kombination der Verfahrensinformation mit dem Ziel einer automatisierten Merkmalsextraktion und Defekterkennung führt dabei zu einer verlässlichen Erfassung des baulichen Bestands und zugleich einer Bewertung des Bauteilzustands. Die Ergebnisse werden einer digitalen Zustandsakte zugeführt, die bei wiederkehrender Prüfung Rückschlüsse auf zeitliche Veränderungen am jeweiligen Ort zulässt. Gleichzeitig unterstützt die maschinelle Signalauswertung das Erkennen sicherheitskritischer Fehler in den umfangreichen Messdatensätzen.

Das Projekt BetoNPP wird gemeinsam mit dem Lehrstuhl für Messtechnik der Universität des Saarlandes (LMT-UdS) und der KIWA GmbH bearbeitet.

BetoNPP Eckdaten

Verbundvorhaben
Koordination durch Fraunhofer IZFP
Fördergeber: BMWi (GRS)
Laufzeit: 05/2021 bis 04/2024
Gesamtfördersumme: ca. 1,24 Mio. €