Ultrasonic inspection

John Deere 8000 Series forage harvester Weld seam testing on blade holder using “LinScanDuo 2.0“

more info

Ultrasound

Ultrasonic inspection with its various techniques has long been a central procedure of nondestructive testing and thus an essential element of many quality assurance measures. In most if not all sections of the product lifecycle - but particularly for ​​production processes - it provides established methods with versatile possibilities to guarantee the safety of the manufactured products.

By the rise of novel materials such as fiber-reinforced plastics, high-strength steels and light metals, which are used alone or in combination in hybrid components and as composite materials, the requirements for ultrasound inspection have significantly increased over the last decade. These material-related challenges are intensified by increasingly complex component geometries, the need for high-resolution defect detection or the realization of faster inspection speed. All this can be taken into account with the methods provided at Fraunhofer IZFP. The areas of material characterization, component / assembly inspection and condition monitoring are the focus of our attention.

The institute has a wide range of application-oriented techniques, competences and know-how at its disposal. This comprises, among other things, the construction of specially adapted ultrasound transducers and inspection systems including hardware and software development as well as the execution of qualifying manual and robot-based ultrasound tests to meet customer-specific requirements.

In addition, Fraunhofer IZFP counsels its customers in the preparation of specific inspection instructions and supports the execution and the evaluation of inspections.

Ultrasound Sensors: Custom-made

Air-coupled ultrasound array sensor
© Fraunhofer IZFP

Air-coupled ultrasound array sensor

The Fraunhofer IZFP in Saarbrücken develops and manufactures ultrasound sensors for diverse applications. The Institute has developed, among others, ultrasound sensors for the Rosetta mission, which launched on 2 March 2004 and landed on the cometary surface in November 2014.

Typically, however, we develop ultrasound sensors for material and component testing, as well as for condition monitoring over the entire product lifecycle from raw material to recycling.

Flyer

AcoustiX: Acoustic sensor system for final assembly inspection or operation monitoring by means of cognitive signal analysis

AcoustiX – acoustic sensor system, here on a combine cutter bar
© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

AcoustiX – acoustic sensor system, here on a combine cutter bar

During operation, machines or systems generate characteristic vibrations, and thus, noises. These provide information on quality, as assembly errors or other defects often cause a change in these operating noises.

In contrast, acoustic testing systems available on the market allow objective detection of products having unusual vibrations or noises. Such systems do, however, have to often be carefully and explicitly calibrated using representative parts. In addition, the acoustic and vibratory behavior is generally limited to few acoustical parameters such as frequencies or amplitudes. Even minor design adjustments will require recalibration to prevent a negative impact on testing reliability.

For solving these problems, Fraunhofer IZFP has developed “AcoustiX“, an acoustic sensor system with cognitive signal analysis.

Flyer

3D SmartInspect: Intelligent Inspection Monitoring and Documentation by Optical Tracking System for Ultrasound and Eddy Current Inspection

3D SmartInspect – a Fraunhofer IZFP tool for the digital NDT world: Augmented Reality System as a support for the manual inspection of components or large surfaces
© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

3D SmartInspect – a Fraunhofer IZFP tool for the digital NDT world: Augmented Reality System as a support for the manual inspection of components or large surfaces

In the case of the widely used manual inspection, the quality of the inspection depends strongly on the personnel and the environmental conditions; this fact concerns the inspection of small com­ponents in production as well as the maintenance inspections of large industrial structures. The ­adequate interpretation of the measured values and the thorough coverage of the inspection area require a high degree of personal expertise. In addition, companies face considerable challenges with regard to documen­tation. Often, inspection reports are drawn up by hand and any peculiar observations are marked on the components themselves. A digital link between the specimen and the documentation is not established. If inspections take several hours or days, errors and incomplete documentation can occur, leading to negative consequences for subsequent processes.

To solve this topic, Fraunhofer IZFP has developed the optical tracking system “3D SmartInspect“, an assistance system for manual inspections based on cognitive signal evaluation.

Read more

Sensor System to Detect Cracks and Neckings in Formed Sheets

Tailored Blanks inspection with Fraunhofer IZFP´s EMAT sensor
© Fraunhofer IZFP

Tailored Blanks inspection with Fraunhofer IZFP´s EMAT sensor

Requirements on components and processes in the sheet metal forming sector are steadily rising. This applies in particular to the automotive industry as the largest manufacturer and buyer of formed sheet metal parts. Due to lightweight construction concepts, many forming processes are increasingly being pushed to their limits. Because of growing processing complexity, high forming degrees with ever smaller sheet thicknesses, batch fluctuations of the materials as well as uncertainties in the tool / machine system, it is unavoidable that these process limits are sporadically exceeded.


As a consequence of such influencing factors, forming-related component defects that are difficult to identify cannot be avoided completely. This includes cracked areas (cracks) in the sheet, but also local thinnings of the sheet thickness (neckings). While gaping cracks above a certain size can be reliably detected with optical methods, so far there was no method for the reliable detection of closed or small cracks and in particular of neckings.

A comparative study showed that the so-called EMAT inspection technique (electromagnetic acoustic transducer) is the most appropriate method for the production-integrated detection of cracks and neckings in sheet metal components. Ultrasonic probes based on EMAT can be used dry, i.e. without coupling agents and generally without contact.

Read more

UER III: System for Ultrasonic Stress Measurement in the Rim of Railroad Wheels

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

UER III: System for ultrasonic stress measurement in the rim of railroad wheels

Fields of application: Heavy/operational maintenance

More than 20 years of experience in industrial application

Frontend solution to minimize electromagnetic interferences

Development and design of the mobile version in 2018

Comprehensive service and flexible technical support

Selection of long-term available hardware components

Compatible with modern IT infrastructure in workshop environment

Comfortable handling, easy to learn and reliable

Identical cross-platform inspection software for all variants

Flyer UER

Flyer UER-mobil

Air-Coupled Ultrasound Inspection: Contactless and Contamination-Free Materials Characterization

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

Air-coupled ultrasound inspection of advanced materials

The structural components used in modern automobiles and aircraft manufacturing are subject to stringent requirements, such as having a lightweight, yet mechanically robust design. Among other things, this ensures structures with improved crash behavior and excellent vibration and sound damping properties. Adhering to such demanding specifications requires the use of innovative materials like carbon or glass fiber reinforced polymer, high-strength steel and lightweight metals, which are often combined into hybrid components.

Read more

High-Frequency Ultrasonic Technology: Optimizing the Quality of Laser Welding Seams (Presshardened Steels)

© Fraunhofer IZFP

3d profile of a laser beam welding seam

Integration of the HF-ultrasonic inspection technology for a fast, efficient monitoring, documentation and optimization of the laser welding quality

Validation for determining all of the relevant quality characteristics (welding seam profile, existence and position of defects, etc.)

Detection of typical defects such as “false friends“, “seam collapse“ and “blow out“ as well as pores with a minimum diameter of approx. 0.2 millimeters

Read more

EMUS: Defect Inspection using Electromagnetic Ultrasound Technology

© tomas - Fotolia

Pipeline

Contactless ultrasound inspection without couplants

Real-time capable; can be automated for in-line inspections.

Industrial-scale, robust design leads to long service life without visible wear and tear

Cold and warm sheet metal forming (i.e. auto body parts)


Read more

 

 

Hardware and Software Components of the Ultrasonic Inspection System RAWIS: Production-Integrated Inspection of Railroad Wheels

© Rosen Group

RAWIS Inspection System

High resolution at concurrently high inspection velocity by use of phased array technique and hardware-near data processing

Fully automated hundred percent inspection of wheel rim and wheel hub within a single turn of the wheel

Use of smart evaluation algorithms for automated assessment of the inspection results

Modular system design for use in maintenance inspections at low modification time and effort

Read more

Surface Hardening Depth (SHD): Nondestructive Inspection of Inductively Hardened Parts and Components Using Ultrasonic Backscattering

© Fraunhofer IZFP

Crank shaft inspection using SHD sensor

Long-term experience with customized ultrasonic hardware and software

Fraunhofer IZFP designs and manufactures optimized ultrasonic electronics

Systems for automated and manual testing are available

No calibration of reference parts with defined hardness

Impartial, user-independent measurement technique

Read more

MAGNUS: Hybrid Micromagnetic and Ultrasonic Test System

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

MAGNUS setup

Smart combination of micromagnetic materials characterization and electromagnetic ultrasound transduction

Demonstrator set up and testing in industrial-like environments

The MAGNUS project is jointly funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research and the French National Research Agency through the Fraunhofer Carnot program, an alliance with the “Centre Technique des Industries Mécaniques” CETIM in Senlis, France.

Read more

Ultraschall

John Deere Feldhäcksler der Baureihe 8000 Schweißnahtprüfung der Messerhalter mit »LinScanDuo 2.0«

mehr Info

Ultraschall

Die Ultraschallprüfung mit ihren vielfältigen Techniken ist seit langem ein zentrales Verfahren der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung und damit wesentlicher Bestandteil vieler Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen. In praktisch allen Sektionen des Produktlebenszyklus, insbesondere aber im Bereich von Produktionsprozessen, stellt sie etablierte Methoden zur Verfügung, mit deren vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten die Sicherheit der hergestellten Produkte gewährleistet werden kann.

Durch den Einsatz neuartiger Werkstoffe wie faserverstärkte Kunststoffe, hochfeste Stähle und Leichtmetalle, die allein oder in Kombination in Hybridbauteilen und als Verbundwerkstoffe Anwendung finden, haben sich die Anforderungen an die Ultraschallprüfung im letzten Jahrzehnt deutlich erhöht. Zu diesen werkstoffseitigen Gegebenheiten treten Herausforderungen auf Grund immer komplexerer Bauteilgeometrien, der Notwendigkeit zur hochauflösenden Fehlerprüfung oder der Realisierung schnellerer Prüfgeschwindigkeiten hinzu. All dem kann mit den am Fraunhofer IZFP eingesetzten Techniken Rechnung getragen werden. Die Bereiche Materialcharakterisierung, Bauteil-/Komponentenprüfung und Zustandsüberwachung stehen dabei im Fokus unserer Aufmerksamkeit.

Das Institut verfügt über ein breites Spektrum einsatzfähiger Techniken, Kompetenzen und Know-how bezüglich des Aufbaus von u. a. speziell angepassten Ultraschall-Wandlern, von Prüfsystemen inkl. der Hard- und Softwareentwicklung sowie der Durchführung von qualifizierenden manuellen und robotergestützten Ultraschallprüfungen, um den kundenspezifischen Ansprüchen zu entsprechen.

Darüber hinaus berät bzw. unterstützt das Fraunhofer IZFP Kunden bei der Erstellung von individuellen Prüfanweisungen, der Durchführung und der Auswertung von Prüfungen.

Ultraschallsensoren nach Maß

Luftultraschallarray-Sensor
© Fraunhofer IZFP
Luftultraschallarray-Sensor

Das Fraunhofer IZFP in Saarbrücken entwickelt und fertigt Ultraschallsensoren für vielseitige Einsatzbereiche. Unter anderem entwickelte das Institut Ultraschallsensoren für die Rosetta-Mission, die am 2. März 2004 startete und im November 2014 auf der Kometenoberfläche landete.

Typischerweise entwickeln wir jedoch Ultraschallsensoren für die Material- und ­Bauteilprüfung sowie für das Condition Monitoring innerhalb des gesamten Produktlebenszyklus, angefangen vom Rohstoff bis hin zum Recycling. 

Zum Flyer

AcoustiX: Akustisches Sensorsystem zur Montageendkontrolle oder Betriebsüberwachung mittels kognitiver Signalanalyse

AcoustiX – Akustisches Sensorsystem am Beispiel eines Schneidwerkes für Mähdrescher
© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
AcoustiX – Akustisches Sensorsystem am Beispiel eines Schneidwerkes für Mähdrescher

Maschinen oder Anlagen erzeugen im Betrieb charakteristische Schwingungen und damit Geräusche. Diese geben Auskunft über die Qualität, da Montagefehler oder sonstige Defekte oftmals eine Veränderung der Betriebsgeräusche verursachen.

Auf dem Markt verfügbare akustische Prüfsysteme hingegen ermöglichen die objektive Erkennung auffällig schwingender oder klingender Erzeugnisse, benötigen allerdings oftmals eine aufwendige explizite Kalibrierung an repräsentativen Bauteilen. Darüber hinaus wird das Geräusch- oder Schwingungsverhalten in der Regel auf wenige akustische Kenngrößen wie Frequenzen oder Amplituden reduziert. Bereits geringe konstruktive Anpassungen erfordern eine erneute Kalibrierung, da ansonsten die Verlässlichkeit der Prüfung negativ beeinflusst werden kann.

Zur Lösung dieser Problematik hat das Fraunhofer IZFP »AcoustiX« entwickelt – ein akustisches Sensorsystem mit kognitiver Signalauswertung.

Zum Flyer
Zur Presseinformation

3D-SmartInspect: Intelligente Prüfüberwachung und -dokumentation durch optisches Trackingsystem für Ultraschall- und Wirbelstromprüfung

Mit 3D-SmartInspect in die digitale ZfP-Welt: Augmented Reality-System zur manuellen Prüfung von Bauteilen oder großen Oberflächen
© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
Mit 3D-SmartInspect in die digitale ZfP-Welt: Augmented Reality-System zur manuellen Prüfung von Bauteilen oder großen Oberflächen

Bei der im großen Umfang verwendeten Handprüfung hängt die Qualität der Prüfung stark vom Personal und den Umgebungsbedingungen ab; dieser Umstand betrifft die Prüfung kleiner Komponenten in der Produktion genauso wie die Instandhaltungsprüfungen großer industrieller Strukturen. Die korrekte Interpretation der Messwerte und die vollständige Erfassung des Prüfbereichs verlangen ein großes Maß an persönlicher Expertise. Zudem ergeben sich hinsichtlich Dokumentation für die ­Unternehmen erhebliche Herausforderungen. In vielen Fällen werden Prüfprotokolle handschriftlich erstellt und erkannte Auffälligkeiten auf den Bauteilen selbst markiert. Ein digitaler Zusammenhang zwischen dem Prüfobjekt und der Dokumentation wird dabei nicht hergestellt. Wenn Prüfungen ­mehrere Stunden oder Tage in Anspruch nehmen, können Fehler und eine lückenhafte Dokumen­tation kaum ausgeschlossen werden, mit allen negativen Konsequenzen für Folgeprozesse.

Zur Lösung dieser Thematik hat das Fraunhofer IZFP das optische Tracking-System »3D-SmartInspect« entwickelt, ein Assistenzsystem für Handprüfungen auf Grundlage kognitiver Signalauswertung.

Zum Flyer
Zur Presseinformation

Sensorsystem zum Nachweis von Rissen und Einschnürungen in Umformblechen

Prüfung von Tailored Blanks mit EMUS-Sensor des Fraunhofer IZFP
© Fraunhofer IZFP
Prüfung von Tailored Blanks mit EMUS-Sensor des Fraunhofer IZFP

In Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Blechumformung, insbesondere in der Automobilindustrie als größtem Hersteller und Abnehmer von umgeformten Blechteilen, werden zunehmend höhere Ansprüche an Bauteile und Prozesse gestellt. Aufgrund von Leichtbaukonzepten werden viele Umformprozesse zunehmend an ihre Grenzen geführt. Wegen steigender Verarbeitungskomplexität, hohen Umformgraden bei immer kleineren Blechdicken, Chargenschwankungen der Werkstoffe sowie Unsicherheiten im System Werkzeug/Maschine ist es unvermeidbar, dass diese Prozessgrenzen auch sporadisch überschritten werden.

Als Folge derartiger Einflussfaktoren sind umformbedingte, schwer identifizierbare Bauteilfehler nicht auszuschließen. Dazu gehören aufgerissene Bereiche (Risse) im Blech, aber auch lokale Ausdünnungen (Einschnürungen) der Blechdicke. Während klaffende Risse ab einer bestimmten Größe mit optischen Verfahren zuverlässig erkannt werden, fehlte bisher ein Verfahren, mit dem geschlossene bzw. kleine Risse und insbesondere Einschnürungen prozesssicher nachgewiesen werden können.

In einer vergleichenden Studie wurde gezeigt, dass sich die sogenannte EMUS-Prüftechnik (elektromagnetisch erzeugter Ultraschall) am besten für den fertigungsintegrierten Nachweis von Rissen und Einschnürungen in Blechbauteilen eignet. Ultraschallprüfköpfe auf Basis von EMUS können trocken,  d. h. koppelmittelfrei und im Allgemeinen auch berührungslos eingesetzt werden.

Zum Flyer

WeldInspector: Ultraschallprüfung an Schweißnähten von Getriebe-Abtriebswellen

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
WeldInspector

Die am Fraunhofer IZFP entwickelte Ultraschallmessanlage »WeldInspector« bietet einzigartige Optionen zur Unterstützung und Optimierung der Produktionsabläufe von Getriebe-Abtriebswellen. Die für das Werk Saarbrücken der ZF Friedrichshafen AG entwickelte Anlage vermisst die gesamte Schweißnahtgeometrie der Abtriebswellen innerhalb weniger Minuten mittels Hochfrequenz-Ultraschall zu 100 Prozent. Hierdurch entfällt die in verschiedenen Stadien des Produktionsprozesses bislang notwendige zerstörende metallographische Untersuchung von Bauteilen. Neben der Materialersparnis schlagen auch erhebliche zeitliche Einsparungen zu Buche.

Zum Handout

Luftultraschall: Berührungsloses Prüfen von hybriden Werkstoffen

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
Robotergestützte Luftultraschallprüfung an CFK-Material

Das Fraunhofer IZFP ist ein deutschlandweit führendes Applikations- und Entwicklungszentrum für Luftultraschallprüftechnik, ein ZfP-Verfahren, welches einen berührungslosen »Blick« ins Werkstoffinnere ohne Werkstoffkontamination erlaubt und gleichzeitig ein sehr gutes Fehlerauflösungsvermögen bietet. Unsere Industriekunden profitieren somit von einer sehr guten Automatisierbarkeit dieser Prüftechnik sowie einer kostengünstigen Prüfdurchführung, da die Prüflinge nicht gereinigt bzw. getrocknet werden müssen.

Zum Artikel

Zum Flyer

Hochfrequenz-Ultraschall­prüfung: Optimierung der Qualität der Laserschweißnaht am Beispiel pressgehärteter Stähle

© Fraunhofer IZFP
3D-Profil einer Laserschweißnaht

Integration der HF-Ultraschallprüfung zur schnellen, effizienten Überwachung, Dokumentation und Optimierung der Laserschweißnahtqualität

Validierung des Verfahrens zur Bestimmung aller relevanten Qualitätsmerkmale (Schweißnahtverlauf, Fehlstellenexistenz etc.)

Detektion typischer Fehlerarten beim Laserstrahlschweißen, z. B. »falsche Freunde«, »starker Nahteinfall«, »Durchschüsse« sowie Poren mit minimalem Durchmesser von ca. 0,2 mm

Zum Flyer

EMUS: Fehlerprüfung mit elektromagnetischem Ultraschall

© tomas - Fotolia
Pipeline

Berührungslose, koppelmittelfreie Ultraschallprüfung

Echtzeitfähig und automatisierbar (in die Produktion integrierbar)

Industriell erprobt – lange Standzeiten ohne erkennbaren Verschleiß

Kalt- und Warmblechumformung, z. B. Karosseriebauteile


Weitere Informationen

EMUS-VG: Ansteuerung von EMUS-Wandlern mit konventionellen Ultraschallgeräten

Laserschweißnähte: Prozessintegrierte, trockene Ultraschallprüfung der Laserschweißnähte von Tailored Blanks

 

MAGNUS: Hybrides Mikromagnetik- und Ultraschall-Prüfsystem

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
MAGNUS mit Halter

Methodenentwicklung zur smarten Kombination von mikromagnetischer Werkstoffcharakterisierung und elektromagnetischer Ultraschallwandlung

Demonstratoraufbau und industrielle, praxisnahe Erprobung

Bei »MAGNUS« handelt es sich um ein im Rahmen des Fraunhofer-Carnot-Programms, die »L'Agence Nationale de la Recherche« ANR und das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF gefördertes Projekt, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem »Centre Technique des Industries Mécaniques« CETIM in Senlis, Frankreich, durchgeführt wird.

Zum Flyer

Hard- und Softwarekomponenten für das Ultraschallprüfsystem RAWIS: Produktionsintegrierte Prüfung von Eisenbahnrädern

© Rosen Group
RAWIS Prüfsystem

Hohe Prüfempfindlichkeit bei gleichzeitig hoher Prüfgeschwindigkeit: Einsatz von Phased-Array-Technik und hardware-naher Datenverarbeitung

Vollautomatisierte Hundertprozent-Prüfung von Radkranz, Radnabe während einer Raddrehung

Einsatz smarter Auswertealgorithmen: Automatische Bewertung der Prüfergebnisse

Modulares Systemdesign: Einsatz im Bereich der Instandhaltungsprüfung mit nur geringem Modifikationsaufwand

Zum Flyer

Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung an induktiv gehärteten Bauteilen

© Fraunhofer IZFP
Kurbelwellenprüfung mit SHD-Sensor

Langjährige Erfahrung mit kundenspezifischer Hard- und Software

Optimierte Ultraschallelektronik (Eigenentwicklungen)

Automatisierte Systeme und Handprüfgeräte verfügbar

Keine Kalibrierung an Testkörpern notwendig

Objektive, nutzerunabhängige Messmethode

Zum Flyer

UER III: System zur Ultraschall-Eigenspannungsmessung an Radkränzen

© Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser
UER III: Ultraschall-Eigenspannungsmessung an Radkränzen

Einsatzgebiete: Schwere/leichte Instandhaltung, Radherstellung (nach DIN EN13262), Radentwicklung

Mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Industrieeinsatz

Entwicklung und Design der tragbaren Version 2018

Frontendlösung zur Minimierung elektromagnetischer Störungen

Umfassender Service und flexible technische Unterstützung

Auswahl langfristig verfügbarer Hardwarekomponenten

Kompatibilität mit moderner IT-Infrastruktur des Kunden

Identische betriebssystemübergreifende Prüfsoftware für alle Gerätevarianten

Einfach zu erlernende und bewährt komfortable Bedienung

 

Flyer UER-mobil
Flyer UER