Raw Materials

Wolframite, a solid solution of ferberite and hübnerite, is widely used for manufacturing electric filaments of light bulbs, armor-piercing ammunition, or hard tungsten carbide machine tools

Raw Materials

Sorting, identification, or assessment of raw materials

Each year, every person in Germany uses more than 16 tons of metal, concrete, wood and other raw materials. That adds up to 44 kilograms a day. By both European and international standards, Germany places high on the list of resource consumption.

This statistic was highlighted in a resource report from the German Federal Environmental Agency that was presented in November 2016 at the National Resource Forum in Berlin. As the transformation of global technology takes place, the demand for raw materials is essentially determined by the stage at which society is developing. Raw materials are an indispensable asset for the industrial value chain, technological progress and for maintaining our standard of living. For this reason, not only is the demand for raw materials on the rise; the demand for quality is growing as well. As know-how in fields such as materials technology increases, there is a growing reliance on specific raw materials for optimizing innovative high-performance materials.

Each raw material – depending on the intended processing method – is further developed into different material alloys or material composites. In this phase of the product life cycle, the demands placed on NDT are essentially characterized by the destruction-free analysis of raw materials. To this end, Fraunhofer IZFP engineers and researchers are developing application-oriented and customer-specific solutions for a faster and more precise characterization of the raw material properties, thus optimizing the industrial value chain while simultaneously making more efficient use of the resources.

Moreover, nondestructive monitoring methods are necessary for many industrial applications in order to analyze raw materials for impurities or the degree of purity in primary and secondary raw materials such as aluminum. As a result, Fraunhofer IZFP conducts future-oriented research and development activities into the methods, processes and systems required to characterize the material alloys and material compounds being used.

Given the limited availability of conventional raw materials, renewable raw materials (wood, cellulose, hemp, starch, etc.) are taking on even more importance. Nondestructive inspection processes play a vital role in ensuring and optimizing the quality and resource efficiency of renewable raw materials as well.

Keywords

Raw Materials, Nondestructive Analysis of Raw Materials, Materials Characterization, Renewable Resources, Industrial Value Chain, Purity Level

Identification of raw materials with hybrid methods

Permanent magnet rotor for wind energy (project NEOHIRE)

X-Ray-CT

Microwave / Terahertz

Multispectral cameras

Thermography with variable induction technology

Challenges

Heterogeneity of the raw material mass

Raw material mix impenetrable for many methods

Separation of different interferences

Perspective

Secondary raw materials (“urban mining“)
    Carbide, Tantalum, Neodymium

Rohstoffe

Wolframit ist ein Mischkristall aus Ferberit und Hübnerit, benutzt für die Herstellung von Glühfäden

Rohstoffe

Sortierung, Identifikation oder Bewertung von Rohstoffen

Pro Jahr verbraucht jeder Mensch in Deutschland mehr als 16 Tonnen Metall, Beton, Holz und andere Rohstoffe, das sind 44 Kilo am Tag: Deutschland liegt damit im internationalen und europaweiten Vergleich auf einem hohen Niveau.

Das geht aus dem Ressourcenbericht des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) hervor, der im November 2016 auf dem »Nationalen Ressourcen-Forum« in Berlin vorgestellt wurde. Im Zuge technologischer Wandlungsprozesse ist die Nachfrage nach Rohstoffen im Wesentlichen vom Entwicklungsstand unserer Gesellschaft bestimmt: Rohstoffe sind für die industrielle Wertschöpfung, den technologischen Fortschritt und den Erhalt unseres Wohlstands ein unverzichtbares Gut. Aus diesem Grunde steigen neben dem Bedarf auch die Qualitätsansprüche an Rohstoffe: Mit zunehmenden Kenntnissen und Know-how, beispielsweise in der Werkstofftechnik, werden spezifische Rohstoffe gezielt und in immer größerem Umfang für die Optimierung neuer Hochleistungswerkstoffe eingesetzt.

Jeder Rohstoff – je nach vorgesehener Verarbeitungsmethode – wird zu unterschiedlichen Werkstofflegierungen oder Werkstoffverbunden weiterverarbeitet. In dieser Phase des Produktlebenszyklus ist der Anspruch an die ZfP im Wesentlichen von der zerstörungsfreien Rohstoffanalyse geprägt. Hierfür werden von den Ingenieuren und Forschern des Fraunhofer IZFP anwendungsorientierte und kundenspezifische Lösungen für eine schnelle und präzisere Charakterisierung der Rohstoff-Eigenschaften zur Steigerung der industriellen Wertschöpfungskette und zur Einsparung bzw. effektiveren Nutzung der Ressourcen entwickelt.

Des Weiteren sind für viele Industrieanwendungen zerstörungsfreie Monitoringverfahren notwendig, um Rohmaterialien beispielsweise auf Verunreinigungen oder ihren Reinheitsgrad im Sinne von Primär- und Sekundär-Rohstoffen (z. B. bei Aluminium) hin zu untersuchen. So betreibt das Fraunhofer IZFP zukunftsweisende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten etwa in den Bereichen Methoden, Verfahren und Systeme, die zur Charakterisierung der eingesetzten Werkstoff-Legierungen und Werkstoffverbunde erforderlich sind.

Aufgrund der begrenzten Verfügbarkeit konventioneller Rohstoffe werden nachwachsende Rohstoffe (Holz, Zellulose, Hanf, Stärke etc.) zunehmend von Bedeutung: Auch hier sind zerstörungsfreie Prüfverfahren ein fundamentaler Bestandteil, um die Qualität und Ressourceneffizienz der nachwachsenden Rohstoffe sicherstellen und optimieren zu können.

Stichworte
Rohstoff, zerstörungsfreie Rohstoffanalyse, Materialcharakterisierung, nachwachsende Rohstoffe, industrielle Wertschöpfung, Reinheitsgrad

Identifikation von Rohstoffen mit Hybrid-Verfahren

Permanentmagnet-Rotor für Windenergie (Projekt NEOHIRE)

Röntgen-CT

Mikrowelle / Terahertz

Multispektralkameras

Thermographie mit variabler Anregungstechnik

Herausforderungen

Heterogenität der Rohstoffmasse

Rohstoffgemisch undurchdringlich für viele Verfahren

Separation unterschiedlicher Störeinflüsse

Perspektive

Sekundärrohstoffe (»urban mining«)
    Hartmetall, Tantal, Neodym (aktuelle Beteiligung an EU-Projekt NEOHIRE)