Recycling

Efficient recovery of resources for a neat future

Recycling

Identification, assessment, scrap sorting

Waste recovery is one of the great challenges and opportunities of our time.

Next to packaging and biomass, end-of-life, or post consumer waste products (scrap) as they are also called, in addition to manufacturing waste, represent a significant share of the world's total waste. Whereas thermal disposal is the dominant recycling method for ordinary household refuse (after the separation of larger metal parts), industrial society scrap offers an interesting source of so-called secondary raw materials. Thus the phrase "urban mining" – in reference to industrial mining – was created to describe the technical recovery of usable materials.

While glass, paper and steel are regarded as closed loop recycling materials for the most part, the high-quality and completely separate recovery of plastics, rare-earth elements, nonferrous metals and composite materials such as fiber-reinforced plastics (CFRP, GRP) continues to be a difficult, often unsuccessful process. This is why an inferior approach, so-called downcycling, is frequently used.

Furthermore, the often high demand for primary energy and the impact of CO2 emissions represent key factors for the economic feasibility and ecobalance of the chosen recycling method.

 

Development focus

When sorting and recovering raw materials from scrap (whole or shredded components or composite materials), apart from energy-efficient technologies for separating the composites, the recovery systems require new measurement principles and sensor technologies to enable better material identification and characterization of the source and output materials. The sensor data and key values derived from machine learning systems are important contributors in selecting the optimal process parameters (such as in the pyrolysis or solvolysis of CFRP) and allow the recycled materials to be analyzed with respect to their material identity and their mechanical-technical properties.

Recycling processes require contactless technologies and high measurement speeds, which is why quasi-optic, acoustic and acousto-elastic methods are more suitable for real applications.

 

Keywords

Recycling, Urban Mining, Recyclable Materials, Secondary Raw Materials

Extraction and Identification of Fiber-Specific Fingerprints for High-Quality Recycling and Sustainable Use of CFRP

Problem: Ban to deposit CFRP

Consequence: CFRP Recycling = Downcycling

Questions:
Traceability of the fibers during recycling?
Determination of the material properties?

Solution: At Fraunhofer IZFP the identity (fiber | matrix | product) by means of physical, non-clonable functions is determined

Result: Properties and traceability with no need for specific markers for high-quality use of recyclates

Recycling

Effektive Wiederverwertung von Ressourcen für eine saubere Zukunft

Recycling

Identifikation, Bewertung und Sortierung von Wertstoffen

Die Verwertung von Abfall gehört zu den weltweit größten gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und Chancen unserer Zeit.

Neben Verpackungen und Biomasse stellen End-of-life- bzw. Post-Consumer-Abfälle (Schrott) und Produktionsabfälle einen erheblichen Anteil am Gesamtvolumen dar. Während beim gewöhnlichen Hausmüll (nach Abspaltung von größeren Metallteilen) die thermische Verwertung dominiert, bildet der Schrott der Industriegesellschaft eine interessante Quelle für sogenannte sekundäre Rohstoffe, weshalb in Analogie zum Bergbau der Begriff Urban Mining für die technische Rückgewinnung nutzbarer Materialien geprägt wurde.

Während der Wertstoffkreislauf für Glas, Papier und Stahl heute als weitgehend geschlossen angesehen werden darf, ist die hochwertige, sortenreine Rückgewinnung von Kunststoffen, seltenen Erden, Nichteisenmetallen und Bestandteilen von Verbundwerkstoffen wie faserverstärkten Kunststoffen (CFK, GFK) nach wie vor äußerst schwierig und wenig erfolgreich. Oft findet daher eine minderwertige Weiternutzung, ein sogenanntes Downcycling, statt.

Darüber hinaus stellt der oft hohe Primärenergiebedarf und CO2-Ausstoß einen entscheidenden Faktor für die Wirtschaftlichkeit und bilanzierte Umweltfreundlichkeit des Recyclings dar.
 

Entwicklungsschwerpunkte

Im Zuge der sortenreinen Wiedergewinnung von Rohstoffen aus Schrott (vollständige oder zerkleinerte Baugruppen oder Verbundstoffe) werden neben energieeffizienten Techniken zur Aufspaltung der Verbunde neue Messprinzipien und Sensortech­niken benötigt, die eine verbesserte Materialidentifikation und -charakterisierung der Ein- und Ausgangsstoffe ermöglichen. Die Sensordaten und die daraus mittels maschinellem Lernen gewon­nenen Kennwerte liefern entscheidende Beiträge zur Auswahl optimaler Prozessparameter (z. B. in der Pyrolyse oder Solvolyse von CFK) und erlauben die Bewertung der Rezyklate hinsichtlich ihrer Materialidentität sowie ihrer mechanisch-technologischen Eigenschaften.

Die Randbedingungen der Recyclingprozesse erfordern dabei Berührungslosigkeit und hohe Messgeschwindigkeit, weshalb quasi-optische und akustische sowie akustoelastische Techniken Vorzüge für den Praxiseinsatz bieten.

 

Stichworte

Recycling, Urban Mining, Wertstoffe, Sekundärrohstoff

Extraktion und Identifikation faserspezifischer Fingerabdrücke für hochwertiges Recycling und nachhaltige Nutzung von CFK

Problem: Deponierverbot für CFK

Folge: CFK-Recycling = Downcycling

Fragen:
Rückverfolgbarkeit der Fasern beim Recycling?
Bestimmung der Materialeigenschaften?

Lösung: Am Fraunhofer IZFP wird die Identität (Faser | Matrix | Produkt) anhand physikalischer, nicht-klonbarer Funktionen ermittelt.

Daraus resultieren bekannte Eigenschaften und Rückverfolgbarkeit ohne Bedarf an gesonderten Markern für eine hochwertige Nutzung von Rezyklaten.