Product

Collaborating robots and cognitive sensors and sensor systems for produced quality

Product

Product or component quality testing

Nondestructive measurement and inspection systems, which are utilized for quality assurance and product control, are commonly used to analyze products or semifinished products in biological, medical and manufacturing engineering. They are also used in rail, automotive, aerospace and manufacturing applications, as well as for inspecting products in the agriculture, bioengineering, sporting goods and leisure industries.

To date, the complexity of some products has prevented manufacturers from being able to carry out adequate inspection measures. But with advances in sensor technology, microelectronics, automated data recording, rapid signal and image processing /reconstruction and the analysis of complex nondestructive inspection data (often multi-modal based on multiple sensors with different physical measurement principles), manufacturers can now describe these complex components, optimize the quality and improve the engineering reliability. The emergence of new material categories and combinations of materials that are physically difficult to inspect, with a view towards 3D free-form surfaces for instance, is leading to a higher degree of test complexity. 

Digitalization is providing new opportunities to automatically extract and classify the relevant characteristics from the measurement signals, then analyze and save the results as metadata and transmit it electronically.

Likewise, new algorithms for three-dimensional reconstruction and visualization, data analysis and signal compression of large data volumes have been developed by porting over methods used in the field of telecommunications. By relying on advanced pattern recognition and artificial intelligence methods, innovative approaches to three-dimensional data recording and data analysis can be developed (machine learning, cognitive machines).

Today's inspection systems are interactive machines that can be embedded into digital industrial environments (robotics, automation technology, data networks, cloud services). In the area of intelligent manual inspection methods, researchers have also developed initial prototypes that feature innovative assistance functions. In this case, the measurement technology is merged with "augmented reality" and "sensor tracking" tools through the use of human-machine interfaces. These new technology platforms developed and validated by Fraunhofer IZFP show the road toward the digital world of tomorrow and state-of-the-art industrial quality assurance.

 

Keywords

Quality Assurance, 3D Data Recording, 3D Evaluation, Pattern Recognition, Artificial Intelligence, Human-Machine Assistance

Hardware and Software Components of the Ultrasonic Inspection System RAWIS: Production-Integrated Inspection of Railroad Wheels

© Photo Rosen Group

RAWIS Inspection System

High resolution at concurrently high inspection velocity by use of phased array technique and hardware-near data processing

Fully automated hundred percent inspection of wheel rim and wheel hub within a single turn of the wheel

Use of smart evaluation algorithms for automated assessment of the inspection results

Modular system design for use in maintenance inspections at low modification time and effort

Read more

Acoustic Resonance Analysis: Hundred-Percent Quality Inspection of the Component’s Entire Volume in a Matter of Seconds

© Photo Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

Acoustic Resonance Analysis

Inspection of metallic or ceramic series parts that are produced in high quantities and at low cycle times

Very fast inspection

Inspection of the entire component (global inspection)

High automation capacity

Eco-friendly due to (complete) abolition of expendable materials

Surface Hardening Depth (SHD): Nondestructive Inspection of Inductively Hardened Parts and Components Using Ultrasonic Backscattering

© Photo Fraunhofer IZFP

Crank shaft inspection using SHD sensor

Long-term experience with customized ultrasonic hardware and software

Fraunhofer IZFP designs and manufactures optimized ultrasonic electronics

Systems for automated and manual testing are available

No calibration of reference parts with defined hardness

Impartial, user-independent measurement technique

Read more

3MA-Based Valve Spring Scanner: Nondestructive Evaluation of Hardness and Residual Stress Depth Profiles

© Photo Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

Valve Spring Scanner

Concurrent determination of various relevant quality characteristics of a material (e.g. hardness, residual stresses in different measuring depths)

No destruction of the specimen

Integration in fully automated testing systems

Calibration needed

Read more

Produkt

Kollaborierende Roboter und kognitive Sensoren für gefertigte Qualität

Produkt

Prüfung der Qualität von Bauteilen oder Produkten

Zerstörungsfreie Mess- und Prüfsysteme werden zur Qualitätssicherung und zur Kontrolle von Produkten eingesetzt. Sie haben sich für Produkte oder für Zwischenerzeugnisse in der biologischen, medizinischen oder industriellen Technik etabliert. Sie finden Einsatz vor allem in den Branchen Bahn, Automotive oder Luftfahrt und in der produzierenden Industrie, aber auch zunehmend für Erzeugnisse in der Agrarwirtschaft, beim Bio-Engineering und in der Sport- und Freizeitindustrie.

Mit den Fortschritten in der Sensortechnik sowie Mikroelektronik, in der automatisierten Datenerfassung sowie in der schnellen Signal- und Bildverarbeitung / Rekonstruktion oder in der Aus- und Bewertung (Analyse) von komplexen, häufig multimodalen (multi-sensoriellen) zerstörungsfreien Prüfdaten lassen sich bisher nicht prüfbare komplexe Produkte beschreiben, deren Qualität optimieren und die technische Sicherheit erhöhen. Die höhere prüftechnische Komplexität erwächst mit Blick auf die Formgebung (3D-Freiformflächen), aber auch durch die Aufgabe, prüfphysikalisch schwierige, neue Werkstoffklassen und Materialkombinationen zu untersuchen.

Im Zeichen der Digitalisierung ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten, die relevanten Qualitätsmerkmale aus den Signalen automatisiert zu extrahieren, zu klassifizieren, als Metadaten auszuwerten und geeignet zu speichern bzw. auf digitalem Weg zu übermitteln. Auch in der 3D-Rekonstruktion und 3D-Visualisierung sowie in der Datenanalyse und Signalkompression großer Datenmengen sind neue Algorithmen durch Transfer von Methoden aus der Nachrichten- und Kommunikationstechnik entwickelt worden. Mit fortschrittlichen Methoden der Mustererkennung und der künstlichen Intelligenz lassen sich neuartige Möglichkeiten der 3D-Datenerfassung und -analyse generieren (maschinelles Lernen, kognitive Maschinen).

Prüfsysteme sind heute interagierende Maschinen mit der Fähigkeit zur Einbettung in digitale Industrieumgebungen (Robotik, Automatisierungstechnik, Datennetze und Cloud-Dienste). Auch in der intelligenten manuellen Inspektion sind erste Prototypen mit innovativer Assistenzfunktion realisiert. Dabei wird das prüftechnische Know-how mit Werkzeugen der erweiterten Realität (Augmented Reality), des Sensor-Trackings und unter Verwendung von HM-Interfaces (»Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen«) verschmolzen. Die am Fraunhofer IZFP neu entwickelten, validierten Technologie-Plattformen zeigen mit diesen Innovationen den Weg in die digitale Welt von morgen und für eine moderne industrielle Qualitätssicherung auf.

 

Stichworte

Qualitätssicherung, 3D-Datenerfassung, 3D-Auswertung, Mustererkennung, Künstliche Intelligenz, Mensch-Maschine-Assistenz

Hard- und Softwarekomponenten für das Ultraschallprüfsystem RAWIS: Produktionsintegrierte Prüfung von Eisenbahnrädern

© Foto Rosen Group

RAWIS Prüfsystem

Hohe Prüfempfindlichkeit bei gleichzeitig hoher Prüfgeschwindigkeit: Einsatz von Phased-Array-Technik und hardware-naher Datenverarbeitung

Vollautomatisierte Hundertprozent-Prüfung von Radkranz, Radnabe während einer Raddrehung

Einsatz smarter Auswertealgorithmen: Automatische Bewertung der Prüfergebnisse

Modulares Systemdesign: Einsatz im Bereich der Instandhaltungsprüfung mit nur geringem Modifikationsaufwand

Zum Flyer

Akustische Resonanz-Analyse: Hundertprozentige Qualitätsprüfung des gesamten Komponentenvolumens im Bruchteil einer Sekunde

© Foto Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

Klangprüfung

Prüfung metallischer oder keramischer Serienteile, die in hohen Stückzahlen bei niedrigen Zykluszeiten produziert werden

Sehr schnelle Prüfung

Prüfung der gesamten Komponente (umfassende Prüfung)

Hohe Automatisierbarkeit

Umweltfreundlich durch Entfall aller Verbrauchsmaterialien

Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung an induktiv gehärteten Bauteilen

© Foto Fraunhofer IZFP

Kurbelwellenprüfung mit SHD-Sensor

Langjährige Erfahrung mit kundenspezifischer Hard- und Software

Optimierte Ultraschallelektronik (Eigenentwicklungen)

Automatisierte Systeme und Handprüfgeräte verfügbar

Keine Kalibrierung an Testkörpern notwendig

Objektive, nutzerunabhängige Messmethode

Zum Flyer

Ventilfedern: Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung von Härte- und Eigenspannungs-Tiefenprofilen mit 3MA

© Foto Fraunhofer IZFP / Uwe Bellhäuser

Ventilfederscanner

Gleichzeitige Bestimmung von mehreren relevanten Qualitätsmerkmalen des Werkstoffs (Härte, Eigenspannungen etc.)

Keine Zerstörung des Prüfteils

Integration in vollautomatisierte Prüfsysteme

Kalibrierung notwendig

Zum Flyer