Development of novel cognitive and adaptive sensor technology using compressed sensing

Signal processing for materials data generation by intelligent sensor technology

Fraunhofer Attract "SigMaSense"

The manufacturing industry is on the edge of a fundamental structural change. We are witnessing a paradigm shift from considering single, isolated production steps to a holistic treatment of products along their entire life cycle. This vision, often referred to as “Industry 4.0”, has become a major driver of innovation for the entire sector. It comes with a significant potential of improving the efficiency of the resource usage, facilitating flexible production and operation processes, and enhancing the overall sustainability, which underlines the inevitability of facing this transformation.

It becomes increasingly evident that such a change requires a fundamental rethinking of how data is acquired in this context. Classical techniques for nondestructive testing (NDT) turn out to be too inflexible for this task. Even more so, merely scaling them to the context of digitalized manufacturing inevitably leads to massive amount of data that can barely be handled and that are highly redundant.

From the viewpoint of digital signal processing, this creates the urgent necessity to render the acquisition and processing of material data as efficient and redundancy-free as possible. Instead of accumulating massive amounts of “big data” blindly, we should aim at identifying the significant part of it (“relevant data” or “smart data”) already in the acquisition step. We are expecting a significant potential for this idea since existing NDT techniques are still directly based on their analogue predecessors. Novel insights in modern signal processing, which allow to overcome classical criteria such as the Nyquist condition, have not been applied in the NDT field yet.

The group SigMaSense (signal processing for material data acquisition using smart sensors) is devoted to this field of research. To this end, it employs innovative signal acquisition techniques such as compressive sensing, which allow to reduce the data redundancy by a substantial amount, leveraging prior knowledge about the object under investigation. In so doing, sensing systems can adapt to various degrees of prior knowledge and become cognitive, enabling them to optimize and parameterize themselves autonomously in order to obtain the current required information with minimal effort.  In order to process and interpret the data, the SigMaSense group applies innovative signal processing techniques such as model-based imaging, sparse signal recovery and multimodal data fusion.

Department Components and Assemblies

From an idea to the innovation - Fraunhofer Attract

An essential task of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft is the promotion of young scientists. The funding program Fraunhofer Attract is to give researchers the opportunity for application-oriented development of their ideas within the Fraunhofer framework. An idea only becomes an innovation if it comes into use. "Fraunhofer Attract" is an offer to outstanding external scientists to expand their ideas towards application within the scope of an optimally equipped close to the market Fraunhofer institute. The scientist has a budget of max. € 2.5 million over 5 years to build and run a group.

Entwicklung neuartiger kognitiver, adaptiver Sensorik mittels Compressed Sensing

Signalverarbeitung für die Materialdatengewinnung mit intelligenter Sensorik

Fraunhofer Attract »SigMaSense«

Die industrielle Produktion befindet sich an der Schwelle eines fundamentalen strukturellen Wandels. Das häufig mit dem Stichwort Industrie 4.0 identifizierte Umdenken von einzelnen, isolierten Produktionsschritten hin zur ganzheitlichen Betrachtung von Produkten entlang ihres kompletten Lebenszyklus ist eine Vision, die mehr und mehr zum Innovationstreiber für die gesamte Branche wird.

Das damit verbundene Potenzial in der Effizienzsteigerung der Rohstoffnutzung, der Flexibilisierung der Produktions- und Betriebsprozesse und der damit einhergehende Zugewinn an Nachhaltigkeit unterstreichen die Unabdingbarkeit dieses Wandels, dem sich die Industrie stellen muss.

Damit dies gelingen kann, ist ein grundsätzliches Umdenken darüber, wie in diesem Kontext Daten erfasst werden, erforderlich. Klassische Verfahren der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung (ZfP) sind hierfür nicht zur zu unflexibel, ihre bloße Skalierung auf den Kontext digitalisierter Produktionsprozesse führt auch zu Datenmengen, die kaum noch beherrschbar und dazu stark redundanzbehaftet sind.

Aus Sicht der Signalverarbeitung entsteht vor diesem Hintergrund die dringende Notwendigkeit, die Erfassung und Auswertung von Materialdaten möglichst effizient und redundanzarm zu gestalten. Statt als Resultat der Digitalisierung blind große Datenmengen (Big Data) anzuhäufen, muss das Ziel sein, den signifikanten Anteil (Relevant Data oder Smart Data) bereits in der Datenakquise zu identifizieren und sich auf diese relevanten Informationen zu beschränken. Hierfür sehen wir großes Potenzial, da bisherige digitale Verfahren in der ZfP häufig noch direkt auf ihren analogen Vorgängern fußen. Neue Erkenntnisse aus der Signalverarbeitung, die klassische Kriterien wie die Nyquistbedingung überwinden, finden in diesem Feld bisher keine Anwendung.

Die Gruppe SigMaSense (Signalverarbeitung für die Materialdatengewinnung mit intelligenter Sensorik) widmet sich diesem Forschungsfeld. Sie bedient sich dabei innovativer Methoden der Signalakquise wie Compressive Sensing, die es erlauben, unter Ausnutzung von Vorwissen über das zu untersuchende Objekt, einen erheblichen Grad an Redundanz bei der Datenaufnahme zu vermeiden. Dies ermöglicht es, die Sensorsysteme mit Hilfe von vorhandenem Vorwissen zu adaptieren und so zu einem kognitiven Sensorsystem zu kommen, welches sich selbst für die gerade vorliegende Fragestellung optimal parametriert, um die aktuell relevante Information mit möglichst geringem Aufwand zu gewinnen. Für die Interpretation der so gewonnen Daten bedient sich die SigMaSense-Gruppe innovativer Methoden der Signalverarbeitung wie model-based imaging, sparse signal recovery und multimodaler Datenfusion.

 

Abteilung Komponenten und Bauteile

Von der Idee zur Innovation - Fraunhofer Attract

Eine wesentliche Aufgabe der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ist die Förderung junger Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen. Das Förderprogramm Fraunhofer Attract soll Forschern die Möglichkeit geben, ihre Ideen bei Fraunhofer anwendungsorientiert weiterzuentwickeln. Eine Idee wird zur Innovation, wenn sie in die Anwendung gelangt. Das Förderprogramm »Fraunhofer Attract« bietet hervorragenden externen Wissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit, ihre Ideen innerhalb eines optimal ausgestatteten Fraunhofer-Instituts marktnah in Richtung Anwendung voranzutreiben. Der Wissenschaftlerin oder dem Wissenschaftler steht über 5 Jahre ein Budget von max. 2,5 Mio. Euro zu Verfügung, um eine Gruppe aufzubauen und zu leiten.

 

Presseinformation / 5.6.2018

TU Ilmenau und Fraunhofer IZFP bauen Zusammenarbeit aus